Album of the Year 2019: Injury Reserve

injury reserve 01Hands down, our album of the year for 2019 is Injury Reserve by Injury Reserve. Highly scientific methods go into choosing our Album of the Year: What album did we play the most in the car? What album did we constantly barrage our friends and family with? What album got the most air-time on our radio show? The answer to all of these questions is, of course, Injury Reserve.

Full of sophisticated swagger and internet obsessiveness, Injury Reserve certainly marks a growth in maturity of the band without taking itself too seriously. A string of singles from “Jawbreaker” to “Jailbreak the Tesla” to “Koruna & Lime” have kept the album fresh. Plus, it also features a bevy of guest-stars including A-Trak, Andy of Pro Teens, Rico Nasty, JPEGMAFIA, Cakes da Killa, Aminé, Freddie Gibbs, DRAM, Tony Velour, and Dylan Brady of 100 Gecs. It also inspired our most talked-about catchphrase of the year, “Flagstaff Is The New Hawaii.”

If you weren’t able to catch the “INJURY RESERVE COMES HOME” show at The Van Buren back on December 27th, then you certainly missed something special. Featuring 6 other local bands gracing the VB stage, Ritchie With a T, Stepa J. Groggs, and Parker Corey absolutely crushed it. Not only did the songs bump hard, not only was the entire floor a mosh pit, but the light show that accompanied everything was like nothing witnessed before. Check out the video below for proof on that.

%d bloggers like this: